Reason or emotion?

Before writing this blog-post, I was asked whether reason or emotion dominates my decision-making process. A quick thought made it pretty obvious to me that I usually let reason determine which decision I make. People who know me can probably agree with that. But, do I never make decisions based on emotions? Maybe I do make one decision based on reason and the other on emotion? 

Image

Recently I did a personality test (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myers-Briggs_Type_Indicator) with the idea that I could include the results in my resume. Could be convenient for future employers, I thought. The results of this test told me, among other things, that I was the type that prefers to think and consider various options before acting. In addition, apparently I literally acted based on objectivity and logic after considering both the pros and the cons of a decision. So, reflecting this with the introduction of this blog-post, the way I usually make decisions is pretty much aligned with my personality. After all, it is me who makes the decisions, so this makes sense, right?

 But, is it not the case that you some times need to make decisions based on emotions instead of reason? Sometimes you need to let your sub-consciousness speak for you I guess. Thinking about it, while travelling through Australia and New Zealand I definitely made more decisions based on my emotions and whatever felt good. So apparently I make a distinction between two types of decisions and based on that I choose how to deal with it. Why? I don’t know actually. But, does that matter? I am pretty OK with the decisions I have made so far. Yes of course, some minor regrets, but not something to be worried about.

The best of both worlds.

When the reason vs. emotion-question was asked, I got interested in this process. So I started to Google it and fount this blog-post of Bill McKendry: http://dmgb.domoregood.com/2012/10/20/persuade-with-reason-motivate-with-emotion/ This guy has something interesting to say about this: “while we need logical reasons for making decisions, logic alone will not motivate us to take action, nor is it likely to change our behavior. Instead, we must feel that taking the action or changing our pattern of behavior will lead to satisfaction on a personal level.”

 So apparently it is not so surprising that I use both methods then. It turns out to be pretty common and sometimes even necessary to make decisions based on a combination of methods.

 So what about you? How do make your decisions? Does a combination of the two also apply to you? Or are you really an emotionally or pragmatically person?

 

2 thoughts on “Reason or emotion?

  1. Great post! And very interesting. From my very short time with you in Franz Josef I got the impression you were a very logical and thoughtful person and weren’t one to make impulsive decisions on a whim.

    I’m more of an emotional person and tend to think with my emotions but also very rational. I think perfecting the art of using both methods is the best way of making decisions. Sometimes that ‘gut’ feeling provides a better outcome then using pure reason. Some of the most successful businessmen have consistently used both.

    However saying that, I’m trying to think more logically and the difference in perspective is really interesting!

  2. Hey Giselle!

    How cool of you to leave a comment here, thanks for that! You are actually helping me to get a better grade with that! Thanks! 😉

    Content-wise: thanks for your comments. I realize that sometimes I need to make more emotional decisions, but is seems like it is hard to brake a (bad) habit I guess..

    Hope you are doing well! Back in the UK now, right?
    How I miss those days in New Zealand sometimes!

Leave a comment